What makes you like OpenSUSE?

So long story short, I have been proudly part of this community since 2015 after experimenting with many distros and I have contributed little here and there as hobby and since I took up a job as a software engineer, I effectively spend enough time on a keyboard at work to contribute, and while I still have Tumbleweed on my personal computers, I’m restricted to Ubuntu/Debian for native linux at work (but WSL2 OpenSUSE TW).

If I were to say the number of things that I love about SUSE while comparing to Ubuntu for example:

1. Community, absolutely the community. We have a good bunch of people who are spending their valuable time out of their life to help in full disclosure to get the things working. In addition, when a serious bug is found, a patch is rolled out before I shut down the computer (given that I report in the morning).

For reference, I despise Ubuntu community because of:

• Too many “hipster” drive by’s, meaning bunch of people who can barely scratch a keyboard tries to “contribute” by trying to mention irrelevant things. Not that I have too much against them, but they are trying to help but they seem to love typing but not reading.
  • Too many bugs swept under the carpet, something as fundamental as installer bug that re-writes the first EFI partition it finds in the installation drive instead of targeted partition is still there in the 22.04.3 LTS!
  1. The boot loader. I love doing everything in console but boot time is where I don’t want to fudge it and it’s super nice to just boot from a rescue SUSE and let the boot-loader fix whatever mess I made.
  2. Network manager. Love the UI, there was a time wicked was defaulted in LEAP and that was a bit atrocious…

I used to also enjoy the stability but somewhere in the LEAP… TW became more stable… but anyways the community alone and the useful references I can search whenever I need to do X, Y is more than enough for me to prefer OpenSUSE whenever I can.