Tumbleweed: Unable to boot into GUI (problem with unlocking encrypted disk probably)

Hi everyone,

I ran sudo zypper dup today, rebooted, and now I can’t boot into the GUI anymore.

I originally set the encryption up with the tools the installer gave me, so no customization there.

When booting the system I can unlock the disk (maybe) and I can see the opensuse splash screen where I can drop to a command line or boot normally.

I am on kernel 6.8.4-rc1-1-default (selecting another kernel doesn’t change the outcome).

Next I’m greeted with these error messages:

Failed to start Cryptography Setup for cr_root.

Dependency failed for Local Encrypted Volumes.

And then the process times out:

dracut-initqueue: starting timeout scripts

Warning: /dev/disk/by-uuid/[the UUID] does not exist

And then I’m at an “emergency shell”

I’d appreciate if someone can help me fix this since I’m really not a linux pro and would need to do a fresh install to fix the problem.

That is contradictory.

and

So, what exactly can you unlock, when it happens, how the screen where you do it looks like? You could make a photo of this screen and post here.

I have just updated a Tumbleweed system, as are seeing similar errors to this.
Going into the Dracut emergency shell, and running systemctl status on systemd-cryptsetup shows it failing in the command /usr/bin/pcr-signature.sh on line 18 because the command mktemp is not found.
Booting from the previous kernel that was working before now gives the same error.

Can you upload rdsosreport.txt?

OK, it is the package dracut-pcr-signature and mktemp was added in the commit Various small improvements · aplanas/dracut-pcr-signature@719dad9 · GitHub

So to fix it - manually unlock and mount root (either in dracut emergency shell or booting live image), chroot into it following the usual procedure, disable dracut module

echo 'omit_dracutmodules+=" pcr-signature "' >  /etc/dracut.conf.d/disable-pcr-signature.conf

and recreate initrd