Speed: Windows vs Opensuse

Hello all :slight_smile:
I’m a newbie new to linux, but I’m must say I like my experience so far. I’ve installed (dualboot with win7) opensuse and first thing that I’ve noticed that compares to win7 it’s a bit slower ar somehow lags a bit more (for example flash player). From what I’ve heard linux should run much smother and faster than windows but from where I’m sitting it’s not the case… I know that you cant call my laptop very powerful but it’s not that bad… I’m using toshiba l300 amd athlon dual core 1.9ghz, 3gb ram ati radeon x1200.
To be short is it my hardware that linux is having a hard time or maybe some configuration might help?

Hello mate

I’ve got a similar configuration to you on my desktop. Dual-boot Win 7 & OpenSuSE 12.1 AMD Athlon FX62 (dual core 2.8GHz) & ATI Radeon 4870. Personally I find OpenSuSE boots faster than Win 7, but in all other respects it’s about the same. Are you using the AMD supplied drivers for your Radeon vid card? Available here: AMD Support & Drivers
It made a huge difference on my system graphics wise.

Welcome to the wacky world of Linux! :slight_smile:

I’ve tried to install, but had problems :wink: Error: ./default_policy.sh does not support version
I hope I will get over this tricky yet interesting OS called linux :smiley:

When comparing multimedia for speed, make sure you have fully updated your system and make sure to follow the multimedia guide we provide here:

http://forums.opensuse.org/content/127-multimedia-restricted-formats-installation-guide-12-2.html