How to set up load-balancing with suse?

Hi everyone,

I’m searching for tipps or tutorials to loadbalancing with opensuse.

I have two mysql-servers running as a cluster and now I want to add loadbalancing. The reason for this is, that the two servers are able to receive commands at the same time and synchronize themselves so that they always have the same data. So both can be used of my application-servers.

But the problem is, which IP should I tell the application servers? So I found out that the solution would be the virtual IP of a load-balanced system.

But I only found tutorials for debian and for me, as I’m pretty new to everything, it’s hard to “translate” the debian-tutorials for suse.

Is there any (maybe easy) solution for this?

Thanks in advance,

Yukari

There is no easy solution for this sort of problems.

Firstly, you need to familiarize yourself with LVS.
LVS Documentation

Then, read up more on UltraMonkey, heartbeat and ldirectord.

The ‘easy’ solution I can think of would be ‘Load Sharing with Round Robin DNS’. It’s more quick and dirty than a real solution, because it hits both MySQL servers in turn irrespective of the real load and provides no fallback in case of a failure. It works out pretty well for some scenarios but is useless for others. This would require that you don’t point your application server directly at one of the IP’s but have DNS in between.

My other suggestion is to ask on the MySQL mailing list. There is a bunch of people who have solved your problem.

@syampillai:
Meanwhile I stumbled over some possible solutions. LVS and UltraMonkey where two of them. But I thought I read that UltraMonkey mainly supports Debian and RedHat?
I have no idea how I would install it on suse.
LVS sounds nice, but the documentation is huuuge. But I’ll keep it in mind.

@vodoo: