Containerized way to run Android apps on Tumbleweed?

I want to run an Android app on my Tumbleweed Gnome Wayland laptop. Is there a containerized or VM way to do this? I’d rather not install a bunch of weird apps in order to do this.

Should I do this using virt-mngr or VirtualBox? Or is there a pre-built Docker/Podman container to do this?

I’m a noob so I know very little about containers and have never used them. And I’m ready to learn.

Anyone here already done this?

@invalid_user_name I use qemu, but would depend on the android version you need… see the script here https://forums.opensuse.org/t/emulador-android-para-tumbleweed/166275

No flatpak version?

1 Like

You’re asking if there’s a flatpak version of the Android app I want to run? Unfortunately no.

@invalid_user_name Correct… So what is the application?

1 Like

The app is called OneAssist. It’s used to manage warranties.

@invalid_user_name So did you try the qemu route?

1 Like

Depending on which Android apps you want to use, the Ferdium flatpak might be all you need. Check out their project here: https://ferdium.org/
I use it for WhatsApp and a few others.

4 Likes

Does your app need some specific Android version (e.g. Android 8 or later)?

I used Android-9-x86 with virtualbox to test WhatsApp on my openSUSE Tumbleweed system. It worked but i found it “too clumsy” for every day usage.

1 Like

I tried to install Ubuntu in virt-mngr but it failed. When I get a moment I’ll try to research and fix the issue.

The app info page says it needs Android 5 and up. I’m guessing the closer I can get to Android 14 the better.

Does Ferdium have an Android service that allows me to use the Google Play Store to install the app I need?

@Pieter_v Update, I checked and looks like Ferdium does not directly run Android apps. So why is Ferdium recommended? I’m a noob so I must be missing something.

The Android app I want to run does not have a desktop version.