Computer shutting down while playing steam games

Hello I’m brand new to OpenSuse. I created a dual-boot systems since there are still applications I use that I can’t use on Linux.

I’ve started playing games on Linux and everything runs well and haven’t had any issues launching any games or steam itself. However while I’m playing games eventually the computer will black screen without warning and shutdown.

The only clue to the issue I have is this line of text that comes up when it black screens:
a stop job is running for user manager for UID 1000

any help or suggestions would be appreciated thank you!

Steam is usually zealous about blocking sleep to such an extent that it becomes a problem, but I do remember reports similar to yours.

This is for some stupid reason I can’t remember, but if you have the mental discipline and are on KDE you can go to Power and Battery in the systray and turn the toggle at the top that says “Manually block sleep and screen locking” on when you are playing a game and turn it back off when you are done.

I think there is a more permanent solution, but I can’t remember anything at the moment.

Oh, now I remember! Are you using a controller? I think Steam blocks sleep because Linux doesn’t count Controller Inputs when deciding if you have gone idle.

According the description of the TO, there is no problem that Steam blocks sleep. The computer crashes instead!

@Vanedon

• It could be a thermal issue. Depended on the make and the temperature of your computer, it may shut down when a certain CPU temperature is reached. Newer system throttle the CPU/GPU… So you should monitor processes/CPU/temperatures while you are playing…
  • Have a look into the journal if there are hints prior shutdown

Whoops. Derp.

@Vanedon Disregard my rambling, I read without thinking.

I am not sure about this. The computer seems to shutdown while playing games. The TO mention even a stop job running. A crash will not start any stop job.

overheating cpu?