Aspire 5741G crash

Hi!

I installed OpenSUSE successfully but during

zypper up

it crashed with the following message:

http://i.imgur.com/3h0RC37.jpg

Now I’m a beginner and I don’t know much but I did try lots of different distros and each time it would crash with a similar message (on Elementary OS and Fedora it was something about Bad RIP Value - Kernel Panic).

If you need any logs or info, I can provide it.
PS I should really clean that screen :slight_smile:

As I see mention of drm_kms_helper there and your laptop apparently has an nvidia graphics chip, it might be a bug in the nouveau driver.

Can you confirm whether booting to “Recovery Mode” works? You can find that in “Advanced Options” in the boot menu, the 2nd entry.

And please post the output of this, to confirm which graphics chip(s) you have:

/sbin/lspci -nnk | egrep -iA3 "VGA|3D"

The problem is, I don’t have an NVidia GPU. The GPU in the laptop is Ati Mobility Radeon HD 5470. Output of the command is:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Park [Mobility Radeon HD 5430/5450/5470] [1002:68e0]
    Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:036d]
    Kernel driver in use: radeon
    Kernel modules: radeon

Recovery mode seems to be working, it’s still loading…

EDIT: It says Reached target graphical interface and green OK left of it (along with other commands with mostly OK) and it hangs there.

Well, drm_kms_helper is used by all KMS drivers, so radeon as well.

I googled for your model and came up with an nvidia chip, but probably there are different variations.
That proves once again that just specifying the laptop model is not enough information… :wink:

Recovery mode seems to be working, it’s still loading…

EDIT: It says Reached target graphical interface and green OK left of it (along with other commands with mostly OK) and it hangs there.

Well, that’s bad. So you do have at least one other problem.