very basic question

These are probably very basic questions from a total noob… so please accept my apologies in advance…

I’ve been using SuSE Linux (and now OpenSUSE) for quite a long time, but just as a power user. I have OpenSUSE 10.2 installed on a ThinkPad, but also PCLinux2007 on an old PC at home (it came w a magazine); both are running KDE.

Questions:

1. On the SUSE desktop, I only need a single click to launch an app; PCLinux requires 2 (ala Windows). Where can I configure this?
  2. The package manager for PCLinux (synaptic I think it’s called) will let me know what do I have installed, and what’s available. For example, if I have OpenOffice 2.0 installed, it will let me know that there’s a newer version, specifically “made” for PCLinux, and downloadable from a PCLinux exclusive repository. When I try the same thing w OpenSUSE, even by registering the Packman source for 10.2, it will not find a newer version of OpenOffice, so I have to manually go the OpenOffice web site, and download a “generic” newer version of OO for Linux. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for bearing with me, and thanks for your comments.

1. Single click to open an app, this is a setting in the mouse and keyboard settings.
  2. In Y@st > Software > Software Repositories click add > select community repositories > next then add the openoffice repos. Then goto Y@st > Software managment search openoffice then in the bottom right pane were it gives description select versions tab and select the version you want.
  1. It’s under either Control Center for KDE 3.x or Configure Desktop for KDE 4.x.
    For KDE 4.x It’s under Keyboard & Mouse > Mouse. I’ve been using KDE 4.x for sometime now and not too sure of it’s location in KDE 3.x, but it is under Control Center (or in terminal type kcontrol) and find Mouse settings there.