Using PCMCIA cards in openSuSE

I’m a relative newbie with all things Linux, and still getting used to openSuSE 12.3.

One of my main goals is to be able to read from and write to PCMCIA linear flash cards. (If you want to know exactly why, I’m prepared to give this information.) I’ve given up on trying to make it work with Windows, and anyway I read somewhere that Linux has more powerful commands for using external storage devices.

Please can someone tell me what drivers and/or software I need to download from the repositories to enable SuSE to communicate with the Card Bus.

However, if the current kernel no longer supports this hardware, I’m prepared to backtrack and use an earlier version of the OS as I don’t particularly need all the included bells & whistles that 12.3 provides. I’m just not sure how far back to which kernel version I need to go.

It would also be good if there is a GUI program available for reading & writing to the cards, but I expect I will need to get my hands a bit dirty and use some CLI input. Would appreciate some basic starter commands to recognise, format and read/write from bin files to my cards (similar to Intel’s F2F file-to-flash exe program for DOS, if you’re familiar with that).

I’m using a Gericom Webgine XL laptop with 2.53GHz CPU and 2GB RAM with built-in PCMCIA card interface. I also have access to a desktop PC (ECS MCP61-M3 Mobo and AMD Sempron 2.7GHz processor) which has a Ricoh PCI-PCMCIA adapter card, both running 12.3.

But in both, Disk Utility does not even show the cards or their contents, although Hardware Info shows the Yenta Card Bus socket is present.

Please only reply if you yourself have definite and actual experience of using PCMCIA cards in a Linux setup, as it’s specific and precise info I need, not general advice. Thanks.

Just a few thoughts here:

1. As a new user we welcome you to the openSUSE forums.