Triple Booting Mac OS X.6, openSUSE, and Windows XP on Macbook Pro 7,1

I am very new to Linux, in fact, computers in general, and I am having problems with triple booting my system. The original Linux OS I started out with was Ubuntu, which I was able to triple boot in the desired configuration (Mac OSX, Unbuntu, and Windows XP) after several tries (the instructions I got weren’t quite right).

I am now trying to install openSUSE instead of Ubuntu. However, if I install openSUSE before Windows XP, Windows XP erases my installation. If I install it afterwards, it seems to erase Windows XP, as it becomes unbootable thereafter. Perhaps this is because I am following the instructions for installing Ubuntu (format partition 3 as Ext3, mount it as /, and install the grub boot loader inside that partition), without modifying much else. I can’t seem to find any good instructions online to tell me what else to do.

And if it helps, the instructions on installing Ubuntu screwed up because it said I had to install Windows XP first, before installing Ubuntu. I found out it was the other way around. Also, while Ubuntu was installed, all three partitions showed up on disk utility (although the Linux partition wasn’t a recognized file system). However, every time I’ve installed openSUSE, where the partition should have been showed up as empty space on disk utility.

The rEFIT](http://refit.sourceforge.net/) method is proven to work to dual or tripleboot on Mac hardware. I’ve used it on two iMacs (Leopard and Snow Leopard), one dual and one triple boot. The Windows partition has to be the last one. You should install openSUSE in sda3 with Grub in its partition, sda1 being the EFI partition, sda2 the HFS+ partition and sda4 the Windows partition. Here’s an example (dualboot):

fdisk -l

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.

Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes