Tri-booting Vista/suse/7

I’ve had this problem before I switched from Ubuntu, so it may lie in being a GRUB issue rather than a suse issue.

I have 2 hard drives:

320gb WD cav blue: Vista/Linux

640gb WD cav black: Win7/storage

My problem is this: basically, i want to gt rid of the necessity of the Windows Boot manager and have ONLY GRUB as my boot manager. However, all options I have as-of-yet tried, I can either only get WBM to boot, or an MBR error. I can’t remember all the details of what exact disk designator my boot records are on because I am at work, but I remember some.

note: I have not yet modified the grub/menu.lst, i’ve only tried through the default app (yaST is it? I’m still a rookie to linux in general, let alone my ~1 week with openSUSE, so excuse my noobishness).

Thank you ahead of time for the help.

Get into a root console in SUSE (i.e. open a console/terminal, and type ‘su’, then your root password), then type

grub
find /boot/grub/menu.lst

Grub will give you partition names in grub notation, (hdx,y).

Type

cat (hdx,y)/boot/grub/menu.lst

For each partition that grub told you (there should be one for each linux installation you have that has /boot in root - which is all of them, unless you’ve set it up differently).

Grub will print out the menu files. On of them is your SUSE menu - easily recognizable by the fact that it sprinkles the term “YaST2 identifier” throughout, and YaST is SUSE specific.

This is your SUSE partition. So using the correct X and Y you’ve just identified, run

root (hdx,y)
setup (hdx)
quit

Make sure that hard drive is set to boot first in the BIOS, and then we can set about fixing any Windows options in the menu - if they don’t work, boot SUSE, get to a root terminal, and give us the output of

fdisk -l
cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

Et voila!

Thank you! Like i said, I’m at work right now, but I will try it out once I get home tonight and report back. Thanks again.