Touch pad Problems

I have a toshiba laptop with a synoptics touch pad. It was working perfectly until just recently. Whenever I login under my default user, it stops responding as soon as gnome pops up. When I login under root, it works perfectly again.

I’m running opensuse 11.0 and I’m fairly new to linux, could you guys guide me in the right direction to getting my mouse to work again correctly?

Also, I do not have access to an external mouse as the only one I have is ps/2 and there are no tech shops in my area.

go to control panel>sessions, uncheck ‘touchpad’ and reboot.
you can navigate with tab and arrows.

Thanks to modulep!

Your answer helped me, too.

I had until yesterday the same problem with Suse 11.0 on my notebook (Samsung X20 1730 V with intel 915 on board graphic) and it’s touchpad (synaptics). I tried a lot without much success (see: http://de.opensuse.org/SDB:Konfiguration_des_Synaptics-Touchpad_unter_SUSE_LINUX_9.1 = http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Configuration_of_the_Synaptics_Touchpad_on_SUSE_LINUX_9.1); I also switched mouse and tochpad in the control bord. But I had a USB-mouse ad hand, so I mad a new normal (not-root) user and in this second profile/user the touchpad worked again normal.

Thanks to modulep’s advice now the fist normal user can also use the touchpad again (including the virtual mouse wheel).

I think the problem has something to do with the 3D Effects (and maybe the mouse control with sax2). It appeared after I switched the desktop-effects (Compitz) on in the first normal profile and wasn’t there in the second profil (in which I will always work without wabbeling windows ect. out of caution).

After going to control panel>sessions, and unchecking ‘touchpad’ I can now use 3D and touchpad in first profile. But I wonder
why there was before that something aktivated (checked) that deactivated my touchpad (“gsynaptics-init --sm-disable”). Is this a general bug or had just roccomonte and I done the same things wrong?

Greetings