How can I get tightvnc to use gnome?

This is my xstartup script, but it doesn’t work for gnome :frowning:

#!/bin/sh

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
#twm &
gnome-session &

Alternatively, if someone knows how to setup tightvnc to start at the login screen/manager?

Thanks.

I always run:
vncviewer ipaddress:1
From a terminal to start a graphic login and it always works. It defaults to the login user’s theme settings for both kde and gnome sessions.

This will do it:

#!/bin/sh
/usr/bin/gnome &

Reference: TightVNC (VNC Xvnc) on openSUSE as Client or Server (Remote Desktop Connections)

Hi whych,

Thanks for the reply. Sorry, I should of mentioned I’m trying to connect from a Windows XP laptop, so I’m using the TightVNC Viewer program to connect. I assume your referring to connecting from another Linux box.

So I can learn something new for future reference as I’m still a Linux newbie. When you say start a graphic login from a terminal, what do you mean and how do you do it?

Hi swerdna,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately your suggestion didn’t work. All I get is a screen with a “snowy” like background.

Here are the last lines of the log file.

Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/local, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/uni, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/CID, removing from list!
Xlib:  extension "RANDR" missing on display ":1.0".
gnome-session[6245]: WARNING: Failed to acquire org.gnome.SessionManager
gnome-session[6245]: ******************* START ********************************
gnome-session[6245]: Frame 0: /usr/bin/gnome-session [0x417217]
gnome-session[6245]: Frame 1: /usr/bin/gnome-session [0x417376]
gnome-session[6245]: Frame 2: /lib64/libpthread.so.0 [0x7f1249592a90]
gnome-session[6245]: Frame 3: /usr/bin/gnome-session [0x418ab9]