The printer-firewall nonsense must be fixed. It's a major security issue

In my opinion, requiring the user to deactivate the firewall to add a wireless printer is very poor in terms of security. It seems it’s the only way to connect a printer (setting the zone to “internal” wasn’t enough for me.). I’m no security expert, but a firewall allowing printers seems more secure to me than no firewall at all.

It’s especially strange considering no other distro does that. I love Tumbleweed but this issue, in addition to being super infuriating, seems really easy to fix. I don’t know how this hasn’t been adressed yet.

2 Likes

It doesn’t require that, (although it’s often easier for new Linux users to do so on a temporary basis). In general, opening the IPP and mDNS/SD ports is sufficient for dynamic network printer discovery.

3 Likes

Well that’s the thing, setting the zone to internal and adding both ipp and ipp-client to the list of open ports didn’t do it. I restarted the firewall twice, rebooted twice, still nothing. Deactivating the firewall was the only way.

The internal zone should have mdns enabled by default. Did you check that the network interface is assigned to that zone?

firewall-cmd --list-all-zones

Is the network printer found using these commands?

lpinfo -v
avahi-browse -at
2 Likes

Couldn’t agree more. I realize openSUSE has strong ties to the enterprise SUSE…but openSUSE is not an enterprise distro. Therefore, in areas like this, the defaults should be more sane for the desktop user openSUSE is aimed at.

Not being able to easily set up a printer is what drove Linus Torvalds to switch to Fedora. That says everything about whether this is a sane default for desktop users.

3 Likes

As this is not a request for technical assistance, it will be moved from Hardware to Open Chat.

Fedora uses firewalld, and the default firewall configuration is no different to openSUSE:

This is what I got:

lock
  target: %%REJECT%%
  ingress-priority: 0