SuSE and me

I wouldn’t say I am a newbie but I am not a code junkie as well. I had a flirtation with Vista 64 bit, the reason for the 64 bit version is that I have 8 GIG of ram!

I have been using SuSE on and off since the version 7 days! Anway my experience of SuSE 11.1 the 64 bit version1

The install

This went extremely easily, no problems to report, I pick KDE 4.1 as my desktop. Everything installed as it should, hardware was picked up, graphics, sound and scanner! Not a problem!

The updates

After reading what to do and where to get it on here, I didn’t have a problem, I am now running KDE 4.2.1 release 108 without any major problems, just one or two minor things, so minor that I cannot remember!

What I do

I am mainly converting and creating dvd’s from various video formats, by that I mean .AVI, .MPG AND MPEG and .FLV.

I normally use WINff to convert to dvd compliant mpegs, and I use either dvdstyler or Qdvdauthor. If the resultant file is to large to fit on a single layer dvd I use K9copy to shrink it down and to burn to a dvd I use the Linux version of Nero!

For my printer I use turboprint which I find works very well for me!

Not forgetting the normal web stuff IE: surfing, P2P, FTP, A little bit opf web design and graphics!

My hardware

AMD Athlon X2 6000+, 8 gig ram, nvidia 8400GS graphics card, onboard sound and network, cannon scanner, cannon IP4500 printer, and yes I can print on both sides as well as DVD’s

Sorry to be boring but I find the version I am using fine!

This is good news.

FYI. k3b will handle all your burning needs.

Flash, k3b, Amarok - Install Guide - openSUSE Forums

Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide - openSUSE Forums