SuSE 11.1 Worse Suse yet!!

To be clear, I’m not a novice at this, I’ve used SuSE since 6.0 and I am an embedded developer by trade with a lot of Linux experience.

Installation of SuSE 11.1
I was upgrading from 11.0 and had a 4 disk RAID 5 system configured that was completely recognized by the upgrade from 10.x to 11.0 without any problems, it just worked. From 11.0 to 11.1 the story is completely different. It completely destroyed my array. It overwrote 3 disks, changing their filesystems and essentially left it as a unbootable shambles. I ended up having to do an installation as a new machine.

In trying to layout the 4 disks as a RAID 5 array the screens are unintelligible and in the end I still don’t really know if I have the same configuration as the previous system. In fact I’m pretty sure I don’t and that one of the hard disks is not being used. Since you have changed the way sysinfo shows the disk layout I can’t seem to find an easy way to check what the configuration is.

Using the Installed System
What can I say here, things that used to work, have always worked are no longer working. The desktop (kde4) is a complete disaster. You have these widget things that are not as useful as the old dekstop panel tools. I want to (for instance) create a URL icon on the desktop. I have to bring up dolphin, use the create URL in the desktop folder and then, it doesn’t work. I can click on it until I’ve worn a hole in the mouse button and the URL never gets opened by my browser. Its just dead.

Now lets talk about the application tray!! Gawd, it’s full of things that aren’t actually running. In some case there is no icon being displayed, its just a space.

WHAT HAPPENED TO THE BASIC SET OF KDE SCREEN SAVERS? Instead I have a small selection of the old crappy stuff. It’s not complete by any measure to the previous system.