Suse 10.0 or 11.1

Hi all,

As I’m pretty new to Linux I have a few questions I would like to ask you guy’s and girls. First one is what do you people as a whole like better, KDE or GNOME? Second is, should I update from Suse 10.0 to 11.1?

I just installed ver.10 32bit like two day’s ago. Got everything updated and video drivers installed. It seems to be running fine up to this point. Haven’t run against any problems this far. Except I have no idea how to install a game or a program. LOL Im such a nOOb.:stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, I was looking and reading a bit about ver 11.1 and it seems to be better than ver 10. I noticed there are problems, not really sure if it’s because of user or OS that is the biggest problem. I was looking at the KDE interface and it looks pretty cool. I’ve only used GNOME thus far so I don’t know anything else.

I am however a quick study so I’m confident that I will pick up on this fairly quick. So last night I downloaded the 11.1 ISO and put it to disk.“DVD” but before I install it I thought it best to get with you fine people and get your thoughts on it.

Oh one last thing…This box will be used as a NIDS on my network at home. Don’t know if that makes any difference to ya but I thought I should mention it just in case.

Any input you have is greatly appreciated and thanks.

Bush.:slight_smile:

I think 11.1 is better than 10. yes maybe 11.1 have some problems, but tehey aren’t big problems. If you explore, you can fix them. Such as codecs vs… I think OpenSuse is a wonder :slight_smile: I set it up today :slight_smile:

Ok next question is should I just use the upgrade option or do a clean install. I mean since I just installed ver 10 and have it going good with the right drivers and havent installed anything else I would think it would be all good to go, but what do I know.