SiS video card: looking for help

Hello,

Newbie here looking for help…

I’m running openSUSE 11.0 on a pretty old Sony Vaio integrated platform PC and cannot bring my KDE into full 1024x768 resolution. (And while I can get past the blank screen present at the boot - a problem that I’ll have to look into soon -, I can’t use the desktop in this low resolution.

I understand that SiS graphic cards are usually unsupported and plagued with problems; however, I have encountered no trouble running mine correctly and at full parameters in the latest *buntu distributions - but then, I don’t think I like *buntu. So…

Where do I go? and what do I do about it?

If there’s anyone there willing to help, please download and take a look at the text file below, containing my system configuration debug info as of today.

Thanks in advance.

Configuration File

Well, guess I’ll be sticking with *buntu for now… :frowning:

Start over. Cut and paste the output of

lspci -v (to get some info about video chipset and others)
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

There might be something obvious that can be donw with your existing xorg.conf file.

You could try the basic xorg ‘vesa’ driver, in the meantime. Open a console and become root with su command.

init 3 (Change to runlevel 3)
sax2 -r -m 0=vesa (zero=)
init 5

Another approach is to try regenerating xorg.conf with sax2:

init 3
sax2 -r (To reprobe hardware, and set display resolution etc)
init 5

Thanks a million!

I got it working in with the above method - and it survived the restart too, if that’s not too stupid to say. :shame: It also got me rid of the blank screen at the boot. (Anyway, I heard that Linux systems don’t really need reboot to often, so I guess I’ll just keep the station in Stand-by while not using it.)

I really know next to nothing about drivers, and I’d like to upgrade KDE to 4.1 – think it’ll crash my settings?

I really know next to nothing about drivers, and I’d like to upgrade KDE to 4.1 – think it’ll crash my settings?