Reinstall of Tumbleweed

Hi… So I’m kinda new to this world, so please bare with me.

I recently installed Tumbleweed and I know I screwed up once it was installed. I started deleting things here and there, so my fault. My question is if I want to reinstall Tumbleweed or any other distro for the matter then do I have to clear out all my partitions (i.e. home, swap, root, vms and etc). I was reading somewhere that the home directory can stay intact as-is and even if I installed… say LEAP it should still use the same home directory.

Can someone please shed some light on this process for me as I just want a clear path before I screw up something even more.

Thanks in advance all.

• AJ

Better backup your home partition. This is the way I proceed.

Basically you can keep /home (the main reason you have it on a separate partition) when you install another version or reinstall (that is in fact the same exercise isn’t it?)

But @another_roadrunner is right, you should have a backup of it. But that is something you should have always. And you do have one already don’t you?

I’m agreeing with the others who have replied. Just some additional comments.

If you are going from Tumbleweed to Leap, then you are going from bleeding edge release to an older release of some software. Most of the time that works. But, if you run into problem, you can consider removing “.config” and “.local” in your home directory – and perhaps some other files/directories with names that start with “.”. That will give you something like a clean start with the applications.

My suggestion would be to just try without that deleting. But keep it in mind as a fallback option if you have problems.

So just to be clear here, I will wipe out all partitions except for /home and redo everything else? I have a partition called /vms in which it keeps all my virtual machines. Do I have delete all these other partitions and recreate them and then reinstall?

Thanks,
Ajay