RDP into OpenSUSE 11.2

I’m a bit new to SUSE, and Linux in general and I’m trying to learn. I’ve created a VMWARE instance of SUSE 11.2 and I’m interested in being able to RDP into it from my windows box. (company mandated)

Could someone please provide a helpful tip or two, or rather a link to a tutorial showing me how to setup my suse box to accept an rdp session.

Hi
You need to use xrdp, for some reason it’s not built for 11.2, so you
will need to grab a src rpm from here;
http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/server:/ltsp/openSUSE_11.1/src/xrdp-0.4.1-37.7.src.rpm

rpmbuild --rebuild xrdp-0.4.1-37.7.src.rpm
sudo sypper in /usr/src/packages/RPMS/<arch>/xrdp*

Where <arch> is either i586 for 32bit or x86_64 for 64bit system.

Then have a read here;

Here is the home page;
http://xrdp.sourceforge.net/

Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
up 10 days 0:46, 3 users, load average: 0.09, 0.08, 0.09
GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53

@malcolm, I tried to build the 64 bit rpm following you lead.

I had to install these first after rpm rebuild complained: dbus-1-devel, gcc-c++, glibc-devel, libavahi-devel, libopenssl-devel (because no openssl-devel), pam-devel, xorg-x11-libXau-devel, xorg-x11-libxcb-devel.

Then your command as su runs and nearly completes except for these exit messages:

• STATUS=0
  • ‘’ 0 -ne 0 ‘]’
  • cd xrdp-0.4.1
  • /bin/chmod -Rf a+rX,u+w,g-w,o-w .
  • echo ‘Patch #0 (xrdp-0.4.1…48f00f.diff.bz2):’
    Patch #0 (xrdp-0.4.1…48f00f.diff.bz2):
  • /usr/bin/bzip2 -dc /usr/src/packages/SOURCES/xrdp-0.4.1…48f00f.diff.bz2
  • /usr/bin/patch -s -p1 --fuzz=2
    /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.O00N5H: line 32: /usr/bin/patch: No such file or directory
    error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.O00N5H (%prep)

RPM build errors:
InstallSourcePackage at: psm.c:232: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 67b8ac90
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.O00N5H (%prep)