Questions from a newbie

Hello all.

I am new to openSUSE and I have some question about it.

For the past two days ive been trying to get Ubuntu 10.04 to work but it has been nothing but frustration. I couldnt get the gpu driver to work and i could get the sound to work. Regarding drivers i was trying to install the Nvidia 195 drivers but they just didnt seem to agree. About the sound i have no idea on what to do to fix it. So i was wondering, are there any specific steps i need to take to get the gpu drivers to work and have 3D acceleration and what can i do to get the sound to work. And also what can i do to get the wireless to work.

Oh and my laptop is a Sony Vaio VPCF115FM/B.

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated!

Is your question about openSUSE Linux or Ubuntu Linux? I see it’s your first post. openSUSE and Ubuntu are two totally different distributions by two totally different groups.

If your lucky someone familiar with the other distribution may come along with some help nut you may have more luck asking a Ubuntu forum about Ubuntu.

good luck , best regards.

The Ubuntu forum is at:

Ubuntu Forums

You should find the help you need there.

Ah sorry about that. I ment to talk about openSUSE. I was just saying the trouble i was having with ubuntu and what i can do to not have that same trouble in openSUSE. I was wondering what i can do to get my Nvidia GPU to fully work in openSUSE and also the sound and wireless.

There’s no reason you should have problems getting your nvidia graphics card to work with openSUSE. Read this excellent guide first

openSUSE Graphic Card Practical Theory Guide for Users - openSUSE Forums

(Refer to the section dealing specifically with nvidia hardware).

A warm welcome here. This should help you through:

openSUSE Graphic Card Practical Theory Guide for Users - openSUSE Forums

In short:
Open the repo manager in Yast
Click Add
Pick Community …
Tick NVIDIA repo
Save and exit repo manager