Questions from a new User evaluating OpenSuSe

Seasons greetings,

What I’m looking to do:
I’m looking to evaluate OpenSuSe to determine if the distro would be a good fit for me as a Linux Desktop OS for general purpose computing use and for Linux gaming. For Linux gaming I would be using Steam (native Linux games), Steam Proton (Windows games), and WINE/Lutris (non-Steam windows games). If the general install, update/upgrade, and and install of packages goes well in a VM, then the OS would be installed direct to hardware on a separate hard drive from a Windows 10 Pro installation. This would result in a dual boot scenario.

Background Info:
I experimented with OpenSuSe back in the 90s (CDs/DVDs inside the back cover of a thick book). However, after 20+ years of not interacting with OpenSuSe I’m back to new user status. I have some experience with other distros (Ubuntu, LinuxMint, Manjaro).

My hardware:
CPU = Ryzen 7 5800x
RAM = 32GB (G.Skill DDR4-3200)
Mobo = Asus RoG Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi
Graphics Card = Asus TUF RX 6800XT
Display = Dell S2721DGF 27" 165Hz
Keyboard = G.Skill KM780 MX Keyboard (gaming/programmable)
Mouse = Xtrfy M42 wired
Network = Gigabit wired Ethernet and WiFi 5/6 are on the motherboard.

Questions:

• I downloaded Leap v15.4 and Tumbleweed Snapshot 12-28-2022. When can I get prior versions of OpenSuSe? I want to install the prior versions and go through the upgrade process. This is to become familiar with the upgrade process.

• Does OpenSuSe come with CODECS pre-installed? If not, where would I go to get them and how would they be installed?

• What backup tools/applications are available are any installed by default?

• Do the OpenSuSe repositories have up-to-date Steam, WINE, and Lutris packages?

• What kernels are available and supported with the current release of OpenSuSe?

• Do the repositories have the up-to-date Mesa, Vulkan, and AMD GPU packages?

• Does OpenSuSe use Grub and Systemd?.. and is Grub the default boot loader?