QA issues

I am wondering if I am alone in having these issues

I have had trouble getting a Tumbleweed ISO that installs properly. Over a reasonable period of time every ISO I have downloaded has failed to install usably on two separate Dell laptops.

On both I have been left with a flashing login prompt.

Installing LEAP 42.3 was flawless

Today, on another machine “updater” informed me that I had 437 updates, after which I have a keyboard the is now US instead of UK, I have lost “system settings” in the KDE menu item “System” and any root access including through Konsole. YaST is currently useless.

If “updater” doesn’t patch these problems somehow, and soon, I will need to rebuild the machine.

Is my experience unique, please?

Hi Gavin,

I will see if I can help with this, although, no guarantees to such a complex series of issues.

1. I have been running Tumbleweed on an ASUS laptop [N76VZ] for 4 years now, with no “system” screw-ups… [Lot’s of user screws ups, but I keep on experimenting with the distro, so expected, really]

2. My original dvd-rom iso, from 4 years ago will install… BUT BIG CAVEAT!!! Tumbleweed is a rolling release, which means that depending upon the time of the ISO being download,
    either running updater or “zypper up” command at the CLI prompt, will bring a “huge” download, so when I feel like doing another build, I generally download the latest ISO.

3. “left with a flashing login prompt.” … [Try booting with recovery mode option in grub menu, under "Advanced Options, if this is successful, reboot, and test “normal” selection from grub menu]

4. “keyboard the is now US instead of UK, I have lost “system settings” in the KDE menu item “System” and any root access including through Konsole. YaST is currently useless.” … [These problems, taken together, I would not think relates to Tumbleweed, per se, but more likely corrupted configuration files]

Hi Gavin,