PSPP, openSuSE Questions

Hi

My name is nelson and I am a marketing management student. In the scope of my degree I have to work with SPSS, lucky for me, I’ve found out PSPP which is the GNU alternative for SPSS.

I do favor people to advertise and build linux distro’s around productivity factors, and the lack of a good statistical package, when it already exists should bring shame to people.

By any means could openSuSE include this package on their distribution? I don’t mind building the RPM’s if I have to from scratch as I have knowledge on how to do it.

If openSuSE doesn’t show interest in integrating this fine example of GNU supremacy, could at least give me some FTP space so I can upload this packages and keep them updated ?

Kindest regards,
Nelson

Sounds like you have a good reason to learn how to use the openSUSE Build Service. :slight_smile: There should be several folks around here that would be willing to help you get started. I am sure they will chime in here. (hint, hint)

I have never used it. In the past I did made lots of RPM packages for software that my employer needed to install on our platforms. So I’m confortable enough with RPM and a text editor for ther spec.rpm. But if such a platform sorts out the naming conventions and accessory information, that would be great.

I can for sure give it a go. I know that this software isn’t important for many users as they don’t need to process this kind of data, unfortunatly for my work it’s a must :frowning:

I’ve been using SPSS for almost 2 years, and only found out about PSPP today and already installed it, works nicelly with GTK, already made it crash 2 times during some hardcore testing, but it’s functional and I would risk to say it’s stable if you work with it the way it’s meant to be :slight_smile:

Any help would be greatly appreciated, though I would love to see this package in the normal suse distribution.

Nelson.

Hi
Have you not heard of the openSUSE Build Service?