problem with sound card and monitor settings

I have installed a -rather old- version of openSuSe (11.3) on a brand-new desktop. I have managed to solve several problems myself (as I am quite new to Linux), but now I have the following two problems:a) i cannot make the sound work. the sound card is an onboard sound card on an intel motherboard. i tried through configuration of sound, but could not find anything for onboard there.b) i have a brand new samsung monitor, which i had tried with windows and was great, but i can only get an analusis of 1280x1024 with linux. And it doesn’t look really great. How can i improve that?Thank you all.

Install a newer version you do not have the needed drivers for your new hardware and 11.3 is well out of support. ie no new stuff. Current ver 12.3

You may also try YAST sound card and turn and turn off pulse also try re setting the driver but really that is very old openSUSE and you do not get any new stuff with it

11.3 is old.

It may be possible to get it to work. But I can no longer remember much about 11.3. Please run a diagnostic script to provide more information so to increase the probability of being able to help.

Open a konsole/terminal, while your pc is connected to the internet, and send the command as a regular user:

/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh

select the UPLOAD/SHARE option. Run the script to completion. When it is complete, in the konsole/terminal it will give you a web address/url where a detailed summary of your PC’s audio configuration was uploaded. Please post here that web address/url. With that information we may be able to provide some suggestions.

Note since your 11.3 is so old, you may be told there is an update available. To update you need to run /usr/share/alsa-info.sh with root permissions, and select the update option. Then after the update is complete run the /usr/share/alsa-info.sh as a regular user, following the guidance above.

good luck.