Problem installing on MacBook Pro 5.5 (2009)

Hey everybody,

I’m kinda new to OpenSUSE 13 but after using Debian and Ubuntu for the last few years I thought I was ready to try out new things. I wanted to install OpenSUSE in dual boot with OS X. I followed the instructions on the Wiki, got myself ReFit, updated and resized my OS X partition to 250GB (from 400GB total) and booted from the Install DVD.

First up I’m noticing that sometimes the loading of the DVD contents (either Live Desktop or Installer) gets stuck at some point with no console output about what’s happening (in the screen where it should display the chamelion but some graphics error creates a lot of artefacts so it’s all just a green blob. This happens kinda randomly. I tried three different disk burners on three DVDs and on flashing the ISO to two different USB drives.

At some point I got to the installation where I created three partitions: Swap (4GB), Boot (64mb mounted at /boot) and my root partition with the rest of the HD. I also made sure that the boot loader (GRUB2) was installed on the 64mb partition (I also tried larger sizes).

Now there is another odd thing because sometimes (I tried installing OpenSUSE for the last 3 days or so) the installation will completely freeze up at ~50%.
But even when it finishes and I reboot my computer Refit won’t see the new OS, even after using the partition tool to update it’s data. (Actually in the first installation that I did everything worked relatively fine until I updated ReFit. Then my SUSE wouldn’t boot anymore at all (before I had to boot via pressing alt at boot and selecting it).)

So I know that these are a bunch of problems I’m stating but I’m a bit confused on what’s going on. The laptop is a bit older (from 2009). Maybe somebody can help me out here, it’s getting a bit frustrating :frowning:

Thanks!