Problem installing on Acer Aspire V5-123-12102G50nkk – kernel panic - not syncing: Watchdog detecte

Acer Aspire V5-123-12102G50nkk 29,4 cm (11,6 inch) Notebook (AMD Phenom Dual Core E1-2100, 1GHz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD, AMD Radeon HD 8210) ]

One can buy this notebook with either Windows or Linux installed.

I bought the Windows model. I was thinking about having both Windows and Linux running side by side…

But I can’t get SUSE LInux installed on it. (I have it installed on 3 other computers, 2 desktops and one laptop, so I have some experience as a user.)

I tried both versions of SUSE: 12.3 and 13.1, both 32 and 64 bits. I have also changed BIOS to legacy.

But each time I get the same problem: First round of installation gets through, but on the the first boot to finalize it, it crashes.

I first have the graphic Linux screen, it shown me the hard drive icon, then then second and third icons, but before the fourth I get a black screen.

Here what seems to be the most important messages:

> BUG: unable to handle kernel paging request at ffffffec
> kernel panic - not syncing: Watchdog detected hard LOCKUP on cpu 1
> Shutting down cups with NMI
> derm_kms_helper: panic occured, switching back to text console

At first I thought Windows was blocking it. I completely deleted it from the hard drive. No change.

Since the same model with the same processor, same graphic card, etc., is also sold with Linux, I mus ASSUME that the problem must be the way my notebook was configured. Maybe I need another BIOS? Or it’s the firmware? I don’t have a clue.

Any idea how to solve it?

Thanks