Problem booting openSUSE DVD...

Hello to all. Sorry for entering the forum just to beg for help.
I’m a newbie on this stuff… I want to install Linux on my PC, and I chosen openSUSE for it. But I having troubles booting the installer. It’s really annoying, I can’t ever try to install :frowning: but anyway, the installer freezes all the time. I tried booting from text-mode and it locks always when the console is showing:
Loading basic drivers…

I’n not a completely noob. I tried every single piece of boot option to make this run, and it just doesn’t. I tried running with ACPI off, APIC off, with IDE disabled, in safe mode (with all the previous disabled), with EDD off, even tried to run with Execute Disable Bit disabled on the BIOS… And just didn’t work at all. The installer loader just locks up, the DVD drive stops and I got stuck seeing the small white letters… Maybe I sounding annoying, sorry, but I really want to play around on Linux :’(

Thanks for reading this!

Can you do a media check? If you can, try that. You can also try to use the DVD from windows and explore it a bit to see if the disk is ok.

I already checked the media with ImgBurn and actually, I installed openSUSE within VirtualBox using the DVD, so it’s working fine. But I want a true installation, because running it on a VM is slow…

By the way, I’m using a notebook. I think the model doesn’t really matter, because I searched the web and other users reported that other distros work fine. Anyway, can this be a openSUSE issue with my hardware? Should I try other system?

(Oh, the hardware, or what I found about it:
Pentium Dual-Core T2080
Chipset SIS 671 DX + SIS 968
ATI Mobility Radeon HD2300
SATA hard disk
Toshiba DVD drive)

Hi
Can you try with the adding the option insmod=ide-generic in the
options section at the bottom of the installation list at the boot
screen where you select installation.

Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 11.0 x86 Kernel 2.6.25.18-0.2-default