Please, a bit of advice needed

Hello,

I’m new to Linux, but not to computers. For the last 15 years I’ve made my living on the windows side of things. Lately I’ve been looking at Linux (no specific distro) as an alternative to windows on my home systems. I don’t hate windows, MS isn’t the devil, Vista runs just fine for me, I’m not posting this to stir up the evangelists on either side.

Recently I saw a KDE 4.x video someplace and it looked very impressive. In the past I’ve run Linux (both Gnome and KDE) for very short periods of time but I felt that the “fit and finish” of the GUI wasn’t all that hot. After seeing the potential of KDE 4, that appears to be (or soon will be) a thing of the past. I’m posting here because after looking around on the net it seems like the consensus is that OpenSUSE has about the best implementation of the new KDE.

So help a guy out. Is KDE 4 stable enough to use as my primary desktop? Do applications run on it well enough to do the basics of e-mail, surfing, playing music (Amarok is awesome), office apps and such? If I go with KDE4 what version should I start with?

Am I going about this wrong? Is there a better place to start or a better way to learn Linux?

I know part of this is hardware related, so briefly; AMD 3800+, nVidia 7900, 3GB RAM, 80 GB WD Raptor drive for the OS.

Any and all constructive advice is welcome. Thanks in advance for your help!

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

First, if you go with opensuse 11 I think you may fine KDE 4.1 to be
something preferred to 4.0 (I have not used either, but I’ve watched a
lot on these forums w/regard to it lately). This is also an option with
opensuse 11 as I recall.

Second, how to get into Linux? I would recommend (as it worked for me)
just doing it. Don’t drop windows completely as that is difficult in
most cases, but that’s also what virtual machines are for. I run a VM
when needed on my laptop. I never shut it down, never do updates, never