Photoshop (Video) and in/out workflow

There don’t seem to be any Photoshop specific topics that aren’t over a year old. So I’ll ask for some newbie advice on best VM solution for stable use of Photoshop (in particular I need the video editing tools and power)

-What’s the consensus on PlayOnLinux? In general, are most VM’s pretty good, or are there any that work especially well with OpenSuse? GUI windows preferred over command line (as I’m a newb and won’t have any use for VM other than Photoshop)…

-I bought an install disk for Win 10, but my impression is I won’t have a use for it.

-I’m also paying Adobe $10/m for Photoshop (without currently using it). Will I have a use for this subscription?

i’m not that familiar with PlayonLinux, but skimming a few titles in the Documentation suggests that it’s a WINE implementation with the twist of deploying on virtual drives instead of the bare file system. If this is the case, then PlayonLinux is not virtualization. You shouldn’t experience a hardware penalty, but know that a WINE implementation doesn’t isolate your Windows from your Linux so if something goes wrong, it might affect more than just your Windows part.

I don’t know much about PlayonLinux, but if you’re insterested in installing WINE, it looks like the SDB for Wine was updated recently to include the repository for installing on 42.2

https://en.opensuse.org/Wine

WINE is not virtualization, but if you decide to use any (eg Virtualbox, VMware, KVM, Xen, etc)
When you use any virtualization technology that uses hardware CPU extensions, there is approx. a 2.5% performance penalty.
What that generally means is that if your machine is extremely powerful, you’ll probably not notice the difference, but if your machine is lacking to begin with, then as your application pushes past your hardware limitations, you’ll see latencies and possible freezing sooner and more seriously.

So,