package management questions

I’m very new to opensuse and its package management. I have some questions about zypper. I’ve just installed opensuse 12.3, did a zypper up and installed all those updates, rebooted, added the packman repo via yast and did another zypper up. I now notice that it says some updates cannot be installed:

amarok gstreamer-0_10 gstreamer-0_10-plugin-gnomevfs gstreamer-0_10-plugins-base gstreamer-0_10-plugins-good libgstapp-0_10-0 libgstinterfaces-0_10-0 libgstreamer-0_10-0 libjack0 libsox2 libstrigi0 sox strigi

Should I do a zypper dup from packman or just not worry about it and assume they will update eventually?

I also noticed some odd things when using yast software manager to install stuff. I selected some gstreamer plugins and went to install them and it started downloading which seemed like a bunch of totally extra stuff, like gimp, okular, gtk adwaita engine, gnome branding etc… I cancelled the download and installed the same packages via zypper and it didn’t pull in all that extra stuff, any reason why yast wanted to?

No, they won’t update automatically, because they require a “change of vendor” from opensuse to packman.

I suggest you read the blog post openSUSE 12.3 Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide and follow what it says. You may get two or three prompts about conflicts - choose the suggested solution that switches to packman.

I think that means that you installed from the live KDE media. It is downloading the standard software that did not fit within the 1G limit they set for the live iso. I suggest you repeat that and allow it to continue. And do that before the multi-media changes.

No, they won’t update automatically, because they require a “change of vendor” from opensuse to packman.