OpenSUSE Leap 42.2 Plasma 5 will not detect secondary display

Hello Guys,

I have a video driver related issue. I installed OpenSUSE Leap 42.2 on my laptop (Lenovo Thinkpad R400) and it can’t use the secondary monitor to display the desktop. Let me explain my setup.
I have the laptop placed in a docking station and attached a monitor through the VGA display port on the dock. I currently use the monitor as my main display device and the laptop screen is not used, since the laptop is not even opened when I start it (basically I use the laptop as a desktop PC with a monitor attached). While for Ubuntu this is not an issue, OpenSUSE will not use the monitor for display.
I have booted OpenSUSE, with the cover of the laptop not opened, and it puts the laptop in sleep mode. The monitor does not show anything. If I boot OpenSUSE with the laptop opened then it uses the laptop’s display to show the desktop.
Not sure what is the issue here, as this is my first time running Linux on a PC (not within a virtual machine). I have Ubuntu installed but I don’t get this issue with it.

Here is the result from running the command “hwinfo --gfxcard”:

mariusv@linux-demi:~> sudo hwinfo --gfxcard
root's password:
09: PCI 02.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)              
  [Created at pci.378]
  Unique ID: _Znp.j5duo6BuBmF
  SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0
  SysFS BusID: 0000:00:02.0
  Hardware Class: graphics card
  Model: "Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
  Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
  Device: pci 0x2a42 "Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
  SubVendor: pci 0x17aa "Lenovo"
  SubDevice: pci 0x20e4 
  Revision: 0x07
  Memory Range: 0xf4400000-0xf47fffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
  Memory Range: 0xd0000000-0xdfffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
  I/O Ports: 0x1800-0x1807 (rw)
  IRQ: 11 (no events)
  I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3df (rw)
  Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d00002A42sv000017AAsd000020E4bc03sc00i00"
  Driver Info #0: