Opensuse 11.1 (Gnome) is Just Great

I have installed openSuse 11.1 3 days ago, and i was able to run all photos, videos, p2p programs, google earth, my 3g modem, read my documents any type, picasa, and search the internet freely, youtube,chat with friends on msn, yahoo, gtalk, whatever i needed i did, that was only in 3 days,
keeping in mind that i am new to linux itself.

I believe that is a success for opensuse 11.1, to make it available to novice users like me.

But still migrating from windows, means trying to get used to the new desktop, handling of things, and accessing my data.

I hope i will be able to run my rest of programs, like autocad, photoshop and HAP.

Regards

Glad you enjoy it and welcome to the free world. Yes, with every platform jump there’s some learning and using to involved but after some time you’ll be so familiar with it that it won’t matter anymore.

I prefer KDE as most around here. openSUSE has a much bigger KDE userbase than a GNOME one so you may also want to give it a try, especially KDE 4.3.0 :wink:

PS: Photoshop can be ran under WINE. Not sure about Autocad

Thank you for welcoming me,:slight_smile: i made a search before i decide KDE or Gnome, but because Gnome is much different from windows than KDE, i preferred it, i want to forget my nightmares :slight_smile:

Regards

that’s flawed logic you know. KDE being a bit more similar to Windows looks than GNOME doesn’t say anything about how well it performs or not. Both KDE and GNOME are pretty rock solid environments and very usable. KDE offers more choice than GNOME though, as in more configurations and tweaks possible and of course offers by default (as in, no third party stuff needed like Compiz) the latest technology in desktop environments. GNOME still has a catch up to do but they’re working on it for GNOME 3.0

It’s even better: you can run both Gnome and KDE, they coexist just fine, running Gnome apps in KDE and vv.