openSUSE 11.0 & RT2500pci wireless problems

Hi All

I’m new to opensuse, but a long time ubuntu user. Earlier this morning I installed 11.0 but my wireless card isn’t recognised.
This isn’t a shock since I had the same issues with ubuntu.
I had to head off to work so I’ve not had chance to try anything yet, but I was wondering if the following commands would work. These are the commands I used to use to get wireless working with ubuntu.

cd ~
mkdir ~/rt2500
cd ~/rt2500
wget http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/rt2500-cvs-daily.tar.gz
tar -zxvf rt2500-cvs-daily.tar.gz
cd rt2500-cvs*/Module
make
sudo modprobe -r rt2500pci
echo ‘blacklist rt2500pci’ | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
sudo make install
echo ‘rt2500’ | sudo tee -a /etc/modules

I then had to modify the contents of /etc/network/interfaces with:

This file describes the network interfaces available on your system

and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

The loopback network interface

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

This is a list of hotpluggable network interfaces.

They will be activated automatically by the hotplug subsystem.

mapping hotplug
script grep
map eth0
auto ra0
iface ra0 inet dhcp
pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
pre-up ifconfig ra0 down
pre-up ifconfig ra0 up
pre-up ifconfig ra0 down
pre-up iwconfig ra0 essid “mynetwork”
pre-up iwconfig ra0 mode Managed
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set AuthMode=WPAPSK
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set EncrypType=TKIP
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set WPAPSK=“mypassword”
pre-up ifconfig ra0 up

Does the info above contain any commands that opensuse would reject, or should that restore wireless?

Any advice would be useful since I’ll have no internet to rely on when I get home.

rt2500 chipsets should be supported by the rt2x00 serialmonkey driver, which is part of the kernel since 2.6.23/2.6.24 (?). All you’ll need to do is to extract the firmware to /lib/firmware and reload the kernel module or simply reboot. You can grab the firmware here Ralink Technology: Linux