"openSUSE-11.0 live Gnome CD install fails by loading to a t

hi everyone. im new to linux and not really good in computetr jargons. please help. i have downloaded and burned opensuse11 in the cd. it can boot in my laptop but the problem is that it boots like in dos mode. i dont know what are the commands to type. i was used to the windows xp installation. i hope some one can guide me through the installation. linux is really not that common here in the philippines since i can not find a local community to help me out. thanks much guys.

try forcing the kernel to use vesa at the boot

there are other options, just read thru the help section at boot

hi there. i’m sorry i did not quite get it. where will i go?

at the green boot screen there is a help menu F1 or F2 I think, there should be some info there

But as I recall, when you select installation, you then type the word ‘vesa’ (without quotes - the text should appear on the screen.
then hit enter

If this doesn’t work
read here Installation Help - openSUSE

another option:
If the graphical boot menu doesn’t show or freezes, try press and hold Shift on the keyboard when booting the installation media. This starts the text-mode boot menu instead.

i know i’m giving you a hard time on this but i can not load the green screen…when i run the cd it automatically boots to that dos mode… black screen with A:> is seen on the screen.

when i boot the live cd on my laptop it does not show the green boot but a black screen with a:> similar to a dos mode. i dont have a clue on this. please help.why does it not load on the green boot?

That’s the CLI (Command Line Interface).

Try entering the command: “startx” without quatations and see what happens.

If you are given any errors, or are told to check a file, please post them.

:slight_smile:

did you try this:

another option: