No Sound From Speakers...

I am a complete newbie who recently installed openSUSE 11.3 (64-bit). My desktop is KDE. Motherboard is MSI X58 Eclipse. Audio card (came with MB) is Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme H/W.

As the title of my message indicates, there’s no sound coming out from the speakers. I know that both speakers and sound card work fine because I just tested them under Windows XP.

I launched YaST, chose the Sound icon, clicked on Add, selected Creative Labs. The sound card model that comes close to the one I have should be X-Fi. So I chose that, selected Quick Automatic Setup and I get the following error message:
***An error occurred during the installation of X-Fi. The kernel module snd-ctxfi for sound support could not be loaded. This can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.

I then went to Open Source - SoundCard Support (Creative Labs’ Open Source - SoundCard Support) but I did not download any drivers because of the following warnings:
**** THIS IS AN UNSUPPORTED BETA DRIVER. There is no technical support for this driver.

• This beta driver has only been tested on the following 32-bit / 64-bit Linux distributions: Ubuntu® 7.10, openSUSE® 10.3 and Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® 5.1 (64-bit only).
  • We recommend that only experienced users install this driver. Do not install this driver on a system used to perform critical tasks.

I am completely inexperienced with Linux, so I am seeking guidance as to what I need to do in order to get sound to my speakers.

Thanks.

SDB:Audio troubleshooting - openSUSE

Could be a KDE setting issue.

Goto System setting => Multimedia => Phono…there you can change and test

When testing your PC for sound functionality, try one of these tests as both a regular user, and with root permissions from a terminal:

• first:
 speaker-test -Dplug:front -c2 -l5 -twav
  • second, try again:
speaker-test -c2 -l5 -twav
  • third:
speaker-test -c2 -D hw:0,0 -t wav -l3