No KDevelop under OpenSuse 11 / KDE 4.0

I have installed 64-bit SUSE 11.0 on an HP laptop with a Turion processor. I installed it from a DVD that came from LinuxProMagazine. During installation I selected the KDE desktop (ver. 4.0.4) and all the development options that were available since I’m new to Linux and didn’t know which ones I would need.

My primary interest is learning how to develop applications under Linux, hopefully using an integrated development environment that would let me develop applications like Win32 or MFC applications under Microsoft. The only IDE which is installed is MonoDevelop, which I thought was used for the Gnome desktop. KDevelop, which I had seen before and thought was the one to use for KDE, is not installed.

What IDE application should I be looking for to do C or maybe C++ development?

Should that application have been installed when I selected all the development options? What could I have done wrong that would cause it not to be installed?

What IDE application should I be looking for to do C or maybe C++ development?

Many linux developers do not use an IDE for c/c++ development, they use a programmers text editor, such as Vi, or Eclipse (with plugins) or even Kate.

If you are wanting an IDE which will let you drag n drop to create forms for KDE then take a look at QT Designer.

Just be aware that there are plenty of “wrinkles” with KDE4. If you are looking for a stable platform to learn this stuff, you might be better off on KDE3.5.x

So install it.

Assuming that everything is on the DVD, register the distro online repository.

it is in suse 11.0 DVD.

just goto “install or remove software pachages and manage…” and search for kdevelop. actually kdevelop3 is available. i myself use it here! also after installing you need a single change and ask me after installing it :wink:

if you didn’t found that in your dvd, just search it here: Software.openSUSE.org and install it via “one click install”!