NIS problems after upgrade

Dear all,

I just upgraded one of my Tumbleweed workstations, and after the upgrade NIS is failing.

Unfortunately I am not very experienced with NIS, however, I think I was able to pin down the problem to the fact, that ypbind does not get the shadow.byname map anymore after the upgrade.

On a not updated, working machine running:

ypbind -debug -verbose
yppoll shadow.byname

produces:

29209: ypbindproc_domain_3_svc (xxx) from 127.0.0.1 port 980
29209: Ping active server for 'xxx'
29209: YPBINDPROC_DOMAIN: server 'xxx', port 961
29209: Status: YPBIND_SUCC_VAL
Domain xxx is supported.
Map shadow.byname has order number 1522320534. [Thu Mar 29 12:48:54 2018]
The master server is xxx

After upgrading:

1653: ypbindproc_domain_3_svc (xxx) from 127.0.0.1 port 55951
1653: Ping active server for 'xxx'
1653: YPBINDPROC_DOMAIN: server 'xxx', port 961
1653: Status: YPBIND_SUCC_VAL
Can't get any map parameter information.
Can't get order number for map shadow.byname.
    Reason: No such map in server's domain
Can't get master for map shadow.byname.
    Reason: No such map in server's domain

So I think the problem is related to the unprivileged port after the upgrade (55951).
Does anyone has an idea why this has changed?

Regards,
Tobias

I don’t pretend to know the answer to this, but as per this reference…
https://doc.opensuse.org/documentation/leap/security/html/book.security/cha.nis.html#sec.nis.client

I note the following…

If you do not want other hosts to be able to query which server your client is using, go to the Expert settings and disable Answer Remote Hosts. By checking Broken Server, the client is enabled to receive replies from a server communicating through an unprivileged port. For further information, see man ypbind.

I also tried -broken-server but as the NIS server is unchanged it did not change anything.