Newb Section?

Hello all. I am a Linux newb. Really, I’ve only been using computers for 5 years. Never had one before that, but I learned a lot very quickly by trial and error. Is there a section around here for total newbs with newbie questions? A place where one can ask seemingly obvious questions that may not be so obvious to someone who has 1 day of experience with openSUSE?

I managed to install it on two spare computers that already had windows installed without face-raping the windows installation. That was enough for me to have a victory beer.

Now I have a bunch of functionality/navigation questions that I don’t think belong anywhere but the “silly newb” section.

I assure you, I have very big plans for my home network, so my questions will become less infuriating in time. Yup, big plans. I’m talking dynamic DNS, 8 TB of storage across 3 archive servers and 10 assorted PC’s ranging from stupid fast to slow but tiny (smaller than video DVD player) and mac for good measure. I built em all, except the mac. It was a learning experience.

Maybe I’m biting off more than I can chew, I’m just beginning to learn about advanced networking from google and old books on NT4 server. I’m hoping openSUSE can handle being a domain controller, web server, etc. I mean, I don’t know how to do any of this crap yet on any OS, but I want to learn.

I don’t know how new you are but I’m not that experienced with linux myself. I have a good understanding of computers in general. I spent most of my school life in front of one doing completely strange and amazing things… But the last 2 years playing with linux…

I spent a year doing electronics and 2 years doing communications electronics… It was great and one of the things we had to do was wire up 20 pcs or so to this big old hub and all that cabling was a stress mess.