"New" user and questions

Im currently considering installing opensuse for my hp laptop, as of right now, running windows 10. I was recommended to try out opensuse by a friend, who stated that this distro would be perfect for me because of yast and other linux features. im a complete noob when it comes to linux, and I dont like working in a command line as it makes me nervous as there is little visual feed back of what ive just done. my past “experience” was in dual booting the same system years back with windows 7 and linux mint. I did not like linux mint as I found the experience very clunky, but as of right now I am very displeased with windows 10 as it always feels like im in a fight with it for control over my computer. If I change a setting in windows 10 it usually reverts right back in the next update. So here I am again considering to use linux, but I have questions this time. What is a kernel, what is a desktop environment, what is a package manger, what are packages, why do packages need updating, how does software updates work on linux, how do system updates work, do I need to use the command line to update my system or can I use a gui like yast? I may have more questions but the main one is how do I update from version to version without using the command line?
I apologize if this is the wrong place to post a questions like this, this felt like the best fit.
Thank you for your time, Robert.

I’d refer you to this write up, it covers a good amount of things you need to know. Then come back with more questions

https://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/ultimate-linux-guide-for-windows-users.html

A few more articles to learn about the two available release models, and how to deal with updates.

Thank you for supplying those resources, I have yet to read the ultimate guide to linux for windows users but I soon will.