NetworkManager is not running?

Hello I’m having a nightmare trying to get a wifi connection. Firstly I’m very new to Linux. A few weeks ago I installed 13.2 and had problems with GUI’s, tried Gnome, kde and got some satisfaction with Xfce. Found out it was actually a faulty graphics card, installed a new one, now reinstalled 13.2 with Gnome. Then and now I’ve been trying to setup wifi with no luck. I found the Gnome help pages very informative and I tried follow the procedure. I did however fall at the first hurdle, as is says click on the system manager on the right of the top bar. I don’t have any system manager there. Anyway! I kept going and followed instructions to gather my wifi adapter info from the system. When using the command line to get info, I got what I think is a clue… /user/sbin nmcli device — produced this— ERROR: NetworkManager is not running. Could this be why I cant get my wifi adapter connected?

System… OpenSUSE 13.2 gnome 3

PC … Compaq with pentium D 2.66Ghz 1gb ram, 80gb hard drive.

USB wifi adapter… Netgear WNA3100M n300… Vendor: usb 0x846 netgear inc, Device: usb 0x9021 netgear wna3100m, Device file: wlp0sl9f2u4, Driver: rtl8192cu

This usb wifi adapter is on your HCL: Network_(wireless) list, It says on openSUSE 11.3 + 11.4 it works out of the box.

I have scoured this forum plus opensuse site to look for a guide to wifi settings that are required. can you point me in the right direction as well. thank you. Jon

Go to this website https://github.com/pvaret/rtl8192cu-fixes and follow the instructions closely. That will fix it.
If there’s anything you need to query, come back to us with the details.

Just remembered. Forget the apt-get bit at the beginning - that’s Ubuntu.

You’ll need gcc, make, dkms (from packman), kernel-devel, kernel-macros which tou can d/l through Yast software management.

Your system is probably configured to use “wicked” to manage the network.

Yast → Network Settings