Need help setting up low latency Kernel in openSUSE Tumbleweed

Hello there.
I was thinking of experimenting more with openSUSE Tumbleweed with Pro Audio, Music Production and Live Mixing plus some more multimedia work in general. Since my workstation for music production is Windows purely and solely for music production and for everything else I use Linux so I thought of playing around on Linux a bit and see if I can learn a thing or two more and see how I find it. So far I can see a lot of potential especially with Pipewire simplifying things A LOT and it’s brilliant!

Anyway, I read that you really need a low latency kernel which to my surprise I realised that it’s not available on openSUSE by default and that one would need to compile it from source and what not. But I’m not very experienced and kind of afraid of screwing things up (not terribly as I can rely on BTRFS snapshots to rollback should I need to) but would rather ask you guys first for advice and help on how to do it. Could someone help me understand what I need to do please? Thank you very much!

You could start with listing kernel config options that are missing in SUSE kernel.

I am not so sure you need it for audio, did you try running without? Also, can you share where you got this information?

Seems to me you can use boot options, from here:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet threadirqs preempt=full"

1 Like

Sorry, I don’t know what that means or how do I do it.

I don’t remember where I read it exactly, I think it was on linuxmusicians forum once or some other page guide explaining professional productions on Linux saying that one needs the low latency when it comes to professional work.

Anyway, I did something else this morning that someone else was saying that since Kernel 5.12 I believe, you can do dynamic allocation so that

preempt=full should enable the low-latency mode in the kernel. So do I just edit the grub config file and update the grub with the command?

Thanks