My YubiKey broke Snapper! How do I unbreak it?

Hi everybody

I’m new to OpenSUSE (after playing with it a tiny bit in the late 90s). Have spent some time on Debian lately. But I wanted to try out btrfs and snapshots and booting into them and all that. So I started setting it up on Debian, but it’s a pain! Then I stumbled upon OpenSUSE Tumbleweed and voilà, it’s just so simple!

One thing, however, that is not working for me, is using my YubiKey when booting into a snapshot. After a bit of log digging, I think the reason may be that /dev is part of the snapshot and therefore read-only. But my YubiKey is expected be mounted in /dev/hidraw1 - which I’m guessing is not possible due to the read-only-ness of the snapshot. The real problem is that this means I cannot run sudo snapper rollback because I set sudo up to require my YubiKey. I cannot restore snapshots! I broke snapper! :face_with_peeking_eye:

How do I fix this? The only solution I can think of is to exclude /dev from the screenshots by turning it into a btrfs subvolume. But is that advisable or rather a stupid thing to do? (Also, I don’t now yet how that would be done.)

Or does the problem lie elsewhere entirely?

I hope somebody here can help me so I can stop tinkering (which is of course way too much fun…) and start actually working my work using OpenSUSE. :slight_smile:

/dev is in-memory pseudo filesystem. If not, something is extremely wrong and I do not see how it is related to snapshots.

This should be created by loading driver hidraw (assuming drivers for physical devices are loaded).

As @arvidjaar said, /dev, /proc, /sys are all API filesystems that expose the linux kernel functionalities as a filesystem for users/admins to interact with the kernel without syscalls/coding.

Btw, I just tested my Yubikey when booted into a read-only snapshot and it’s detected just fine. Tried unplugging and re-plugging it even… :white_check_mark:

You may want to re-check your Yubikey setup: