My password doesn't work.... First time installing.

This is my first time installing OpenSuse Tumbleweed. Everything generally went ok but the first time it booted it just auto logged in. It did not ask me if I wanted to login. Then when I tried to connect to the internet it wanted to make some wallet which I fumbled with then it connected. When I tried to do any sudo commands it wouldn’t work. If I logged out I couldn’t log back in. The only way was to reboot and let it auto login.

Not sure what I did wrong. During the install it asked what my user name would be and I entered a matching password… and here I am now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ps. this is dual booted with windows10 which is working fine.

The first thing that comes to mind is that the keyboard is not set according to your language, or you have the caps lock, and the pass … is not typed correctly, check.
However it can change.
At the grub press the letter e > in the Kernel line at the bottom after quiet spash> write> init = / bin / bash> and start like this> you are in front of the root shell> type> passwd> reset the pass and reboot

Hello and welcome here.

You seem to have different problems.

First the autlogin. That is something you are asked for to en/disable it in one of the installation screens. I assume that it works now according to the choice you made there.

Then, please tell us more details about your user configuration at installation. You did choose to create a “normal” user and gave it a password (that is what I understand from your description. Did you also check to use the same password for the root user 9which is the default, how terrible that might sound), or did you go for a different password for root?