Multiseat with systemd

Hi all - i’m a newbie to opensuse

I would like to set up a second seat for my new 12.2 installation and use a usb display adapter for the second seat. I can see the display adapter with its driver in the hardware information after a probe where it shows as WS Tech USB DVI. I can’t see it in the output of systemctl although the other hardware all seems to be present. Worse still I can’t run loginctl or system-loginctl (which I see is recorded as bug 77096) to add a second seat .

My partner is left with an old laptop running microsoft windows until we can achieve multiseat again - we had ubuntu 10.4 userful but it’s age was beginning to cause problems for us. Opensuse is so much better - at least on our hardware.

Does anyone know of any way round this? Is it possible to bring packages over from Fedora? Systemd seems to make so much sense. If I had more knowledge I might be able to help with the integration but I don’t think I know enough .

thanks

Don

On 2012-10-09 10:26, pir8don wrote:

> My partner is left with an old laptop running microsoft windows until
> we can achieve multiseat again -

How about remote sessions using that laptop?

Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
(from 12.1 x86_64 “Asparagus” at Telcontar)

Have you seen this: freedesktop.org - Software/systemd/multiseat? Does it help (especially about X server limitations …)?

Thanks Robin: I am trying to save power on our solar powered installation so the idea is to do away with the laptop and just use an atom which only uses about 60watts
Thanks Arvidjaar: Yes I have seen that which has given me some understanding of systemd and multiseat. But can’t even make it to first base in opensuse without the loginctl code implemented.
Don

I have found this at New: systemd-loginctl multiseat not working - opensuse-bugs.opensuse.org - ArchiveOrange

“We didn’t enable the systemd support in gdm because it means we need to enable