Microsoft is laughing at Free Software.

I’ve been trying LInux and its various flavours since the late 1990’s and with varying degrees of success, I invariably wind up nixing the partitions and with tail between my legs, sneaking back to Windows. It’s a known entity. The lesser of evils and the greatest of evils. But it works and for the most part, at least since WinXP, it’s been reliable.

But, do you know what? I think Microsoft is sitting back and laughing at Free Software. They are laughing so hard, they’re afraid we might hear them and begin to wonder why that is. I started wondering that a long time ago and I do know why. Free Software is divided, fractured into dozens upon dozens of variants and totally without focus and that’s why a guy like me, who although I’ve got 25 years of experience with these infernal machines, cannot install a distro on two machines in a row and get the same result without a crapload of fidgeting around. And that’s fine for some guys, who like doing that for a hobby and to teach themselves about the OS. But at the end of the day, there has to be some order and a means to get some work done and it suddenly becomes apparent that the only way to accomplish that is to use an OS that is engineered and developed, as opposed to cobbled together and maintained on the fly. Those are the critical differences. If the LInux community were to come together under one banner and develop O N E Operating System for the World that everybody could use and the community devoted all their time and efforts to achieving that instead of dividing their efforts amongst a hundred variants with diverging goals, that would be worth something don’t you think? I mean, come on. If they’re giving it away for free, what earthly good is it to the lowly sap who is only trying to shake off the binds a Windows system obliges you to accept as a condition of using their spy-ware? I like the concept of Free Software, but at some point along the way, the notion that someth