Leap 42.3 If btfs is good why wasn't it suggested for /home?

I have a several years experience running Linux I ran Suse about 16 years ago when I bought it in a book store.
I decided to try Opensuse and have never used btfs or xfs. I usually use ext4.
I just wondered if btfs is stable enough for the os why is xfs recommended for /home?

PS. is it possible to install on /dev/sdb without erasing /dev/sda?

Le 02/11/2017 à 05:16, slickrick66 a écrit :

> I just wondered if btfs is stable enough for the os why is xfs
> recommended for /home?
>
> PS. is it possible to install on /dev/sdb without erasing /dev/sda?
>
>

yes it is.

Of course there are some differences from ext4

for me, essentially, the BTRFS snapshot system needs much space on the
partition (100Gb recommended if available), else it need a snapshot
management, but it gives the snapshot security…

there is no way to make a file system smaller with xfs

jdd

> I just wondered if btfs is stable enough for the os why is xfs recommended for /home?
nothing to do with stability. (I believe) that since every file change is stored (COW) on btrfs then snapshots would become too much.

If you are just going to install openSUSE on a laptop of yours for everyday use I would stick with EXT4 (that’s what I’m currently doing).
If you are going to test openSUSE and willing to learn a lot, then go with the default (and be prepared to study accordingly).
My understanding is that BTRFS and XFS might have several advantages in a corporate environment, but might be overkill for “home” use, especially if you are not used to the tricks needed by those filesystems.

PS: of course it is possible to install the system on the device you want, just select the “Expert partitioner” button when at the disk layout proposal screen. If you are used to Linux that should be straightforward; if not so, just ask here on the forum.
BTW, welcome back to openSUSE!