Leap 15.1 Can't turn wireless on to scan for networks.

I’m new to Linux. I’ve just installed it alongside windows and first up was to get wireless working. I followed the sticky and established it as a wifiLink 5100 AGN [Shiloh] network LAN with kernal driver iwlwifi. Looks to have all the firmware installed when I ran a “dmesg | grep firmware” command. However, I tried to do a scan and it failed but I noticed the wifi symbol above the keyboard was orange and should be blue. I pressed it but it remains off. Had a hunt around in the settings to see where I can turn it on but can’t find where to do it. I’m falling at the first hurdle here. I tried a wired ethernet but when I tried to create a new connection I was required to set it up with stuff I have no clue about. Without an internet connection I can’t cut and paste reports to resolve issues. So first up. How do I turn wireless on so I can scan for my network. Obviously it has to be software as pressing the wireless symbol does nothing. Any help gratefully received. Ian

Please post:

/usr/sbin/rfkill list all
/sbin/lspci  -nnk | grep -iA3 net

I can’t cut and paste the result of the two commands but

first one.

0 : hp-wifi : wireless Lan

soft blocked : yes
hard blocked. : no

1 : phy0 : wireless Lan
soft blocked : yes
hard blocked. : yes

and second command

kernal in use iwlwifi
kernal modules iwlwifi

Incidentally, when I log back into windows the wifi has been turned off. How do I turn it on in Linux.

oh and ethernet controller r8169

For wireless devices that are only soft-blocked you can do

sudo rfkill unblock wifi

Hard-blocked devices may need a switch or key combo to enable.

What you can do for posting such info is to copy output to a text file and save to a memory stick, then post via an internet-connected PC.

Like I say. I’m very new to this. How would I format the USB stick to be able to be read by both Linux and Windows. Aren’t they different formats?