Latest update (March 31) for FreeRDP breaks connection to Windows Server

For context, from my OpenSuse 15.6 box, I frequently (daily, actually) use Remmina to connect to a Windows Server 2019 - for various tasks inside that server.
At the end of the working day, I simply close Remmina window, without a logout from the Windows server.
After this latest update to FreeRDP (the announcement for the update is SUSE-SU-2026:1160-1) the functionality broke in the following way:

  • I am able to type user and password for conencting to the server, they are processed and accepted, I have the window with the desktop left from previous session (that is I see file explorer windows as they were previous day, etc), BUT … I can’t click on anything in that remote desktop window; nothing is accesible to the mouse clicks.
  • If I do connect from another station (a Windows 11 laptop) via Remote Desktop included in Windows 11, and I change something in that session (close some window that was left open from previous session, ar open another program etc.), and than try again a conenction from my desktop with Remmina, I do see these changes. But, still, I am unable to click on anything in the remote desktop, or even use the keyboard to do something there.

After some digging (including some suggestions from chatgpt) I found some workaround - on the saved conenction inside Remmina, I did an edit, and in the Basic tab I changed the Color depth from the initial value (which was Automatic, and having the value of 32 bpp) to the lower one “High Color (16 bpp)”;
now things work again as before.

So, my question would be – does anyone have a clue what exactly change in this update is culpable for the changing in the behaviour of FreeRDP, and thus to disturb Remmina in it’s remote connection ?

Personal, I work at 16 bpp just as before when it was 32 bpp (at least in theory, since I did not actually tested the connection if it really was at that higher color depth) - what I have to do is not impacted in a negative way by this lowering.
But,still, I’d prefer to not be forced to do this manual change in the settings in order to continue to do my work.

Thanks.

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.