Laser Monochrome Printer

Hi SuSers! Fast ‘n’ quick post.
Is anyone so kind to suggest me a good and compatible printer for Linux (openSuSe here!!!) the is around €120?
What I only need is a laser one with only black/white. If it has also eth or Wi-Fi connection would be nice! lol!
Good day to all!

Hi there ! I have been using an hp LaserJet 1102 on openSUSE since a few years. This model is also available with WiFi and installs easily on openSUSE-12.3. Good luck !

Ty for the reply! I found also a Brother Brother Solutions Center : Brother Driver for Linux Distributions
It’s around 100€, seems good!

I’ve found that nearly every model of HP printer installs without any effort. I’m more of an Ink Jet guy myself but the laser printers I have plugged in or network installed have been completely trouble free for me.

Happy Searching!

Thank for your contribute too! :wink:
I always only had ink printers (Lexmark Z24 and Brother MFC-J265W), but after using them I’ll go for laser and only b/w, no colors neither ink anymore for me.
I found Brother to be very good with support in and out warranty (I bad flashed the firmware once and they picked up the printer from my house and fixed with no payment at all for me!).
I know that HP has a very very good support for printers in Linux, but luckily also Brother gives drivers (both *.rpm and *.deb).
@ hws38 The HP you suggested would have been perfect if it had also the copy function!

As soon as I plugged in the 7055w, I will let you know!

On 2013-06-04 16:36, susebh wrote:
> I know that HP has a very very good support for printers in Linux, but
> luckily also Brother gives drivers (both *.rpm and *.deb).

You should look for a printer that has complete Linux support from the
community, never via binary packages provided by the manufacturer. When
ever they choose, they’ll stop updating the rpm and you have to buy a
new printer.

Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
(from 12.1 x86_64 “Asparagus” at Telcontar)